Home » Home Life » Snowy Suberbowl Sunday

Snowy Suberbowl Sunday

Overnight last night we had around 6 inches of snow in Coulsdon. In August last year I bought a snow shovel after heavy snow the previous too years and today gave me the opportunity to use it!

I worked for half an hour clearing the steps and path to the house, and then cleared the snow away from around the car and gave myself enough room to turn the car around.

I made it to tesco and dud the weekly shop and headed back home. Getting near to the house the road was blocked by another car who was unable to ascend the hill to the house. I let him reverse past me and had a go myself – but only succeeded in getting the car stuck in the snow!

I prioritised my shopping bags and carried the essentials the final walk home. Where my lovely cleared parking space was waiting for the car. I have now learned that all the snow shovels in the world will not help with getting the car back up a snowy icy hill.

Tonight is Superbowl Sunday – for those that don’t know – New England Patriots (my team) are playing the New York Giants. I will as always be staying up for the game. Then getting up extra early so I can get the train to school!

The growth of the NFL in the UK, the International Series games, and the banter around school have really got me excited about tonight. I am as emotionally involved with the game as I have been for any sports fixture that I can remember.

As any sports fan knows the worst feeling you can have is the loyalty, faith and hope you have in your team combined with knowing that statistically and player skills show that the other team should win. I have that here. The Giants have the edge with the running backs, the receivers, the defensive line and the defensive secondary, and the Patriots most valuable offensive weapon is carrying an injury.

Yet I have a history with the Patriots, I want them to win, and I have faith in Belicheck and Brady to pull if a miracle which will see them go down in history. Make no mistake I am not exaggerating – I really feel it will take a miracle – a Belicheck genius plan and a trade mark Brady perfect performance to pull this game off.

If they can pull it off it will make the early rise, the trudge through the snow, the train journey, and the 2 hours sleep completely worth it.

Go Pats Go!

Leave a comment